NAACP Nods announced with Usher, Monet in lead

Today, the NAACP released their nominations for the year 2024, recognizing the best in Black entertainment and activism. As we lead into Black History Month, it’s the perfect time to highlight these exceptional individuals who have made significant contributions in their respective fields, promoting inclusion, diversity, and equity across all platforms. From music to film and social missions, the NAACP’s list of nominees showcases a diverse and dynamic community of Black visionaries who inspire excellence in all areas of society.

This year, the NAACP recognizes a wide spectrum of Black artists, including Fantasia, Usher, and Chris Brown. Victoria Monet’s latest album, Jaguar II, saw multiple nominations while other nominations saw Ciara, Coco Jones and Justin Timberlake garnered awards in best duo categories. These artists are pushing the boundaries of music while bringing attention to issues that impact the Black community, including racial justice and mental health.

See the music nominees below:

Outstanding New Artist

Jordan Ward
Leon Thomas
October London
Victoria Monét

Outstanding Male Artist

Burna Boy
Chris Brown
Jon Batiste

Outstanding Female Artist

Ari Lennox
Janelle Monáe
Victoria Monét

Outstanding Gospel/Christian Album

“All Yours” – Kierra Sheard
“Father’s Day” – Kirk Franklin
“Impossible” – Pastor Mike, Jr.
“My Truth” – Jonathan McReynolds
“The Maverick Way Complete” – Maverick City Music

Outstanding International Song

“Amapiano” – Asake feat. Olamide
“City Boys” – Burna Boy
“Me & U” – Tems
“People” – Libianca feat. Ayra Starr & Omah Lay
“Unavailable” – Davido

Outstanding Music Video/Visual Album

“Boyfriend” – Usher
“Cobra” – Megan Thee Stallion
“How We Roll” – Ciara
“On My Mama” – Victoria Monét
“Sensational” – Chris Brown feat. Davido & Lojay

Outstanding Album

“Clear 2: Soft Life” – Summer Walker
“For All The Dogs” – Drake
“I Told Them…” – Burna Boy
“Jaguar II” – Victoria Monét
“The Age of Pleasure” – Janelle Monáe

Outstanding Soundtrack/Compilation Album

“Creed III: The Soundtrack” – Michael B. Jordan, Ludwig Göransson, Archie Davis, Frank Brim
“Godfather of Harlem: Season 3 (Original Series Soundtrack)” – Swizz Beatz & Avery Chambliss
“Metro Boomin Presents Spider–Man: Across the Spider–Verse (Soundtrack From and Inspired by the Motion Picture/Deluxe Edition)” – Metro Boomin
“The Color Purple–Original Motion Picture Soundtrack” – Various Producers
“The Little Mermaid Original Motion Picture Soundtrack – Alan Menken, Mike Higham and Lin–Manuel Miranda

Outstanding Gospel/Christian Song

“All Things” – Kirk Franklin
“All Yours” – Kierra Sheard feat. Anthony Brown
“In The Room” – Maverick City Music
“It’s Working” – Todd Dulaney
“JOY (Unspeakable) – Voices of Fire feat. Pharrell Williams

Outstanding Jazz Album

“Brand New Life“ – Brandee Younger
“Melusine “ – Cécile McLorin Salvant
“Who Are You When No One is Watching?“ – Braxton Cook
“Phoenix“ – Lakecia Benjamin
“Truth Be Told“ – Angie Wells

Outstanding Soul/R&B Song

“Back To Your Place” – October London
“Good Good” – Usher feat. 21 Savage x Summer Walker
“ICU Remix” – Coco Jones feat. Justin Timberlake
“On My Mama” – Victoria Monét
“Lipstick Lover” – Janelle Monáe

Outstanding Hip Hop/Rap Song

“All My Life” – Lil Durk feat. J. Cole
“Blue Eyes” – Vic Mensa
“Cobra” – Megan Thee Stallion
“Palisades, CA” – Larry June & The Alchemist
“Sittin’ On Top of the World” – Burna Boy & 21 Savage

Outstanding Duo, Group or Collaboration (Traditional)

Ciara feat. Chris Brown – “How We Roll”
Coco Jones feat. Justin Timberlake – “ICU Remix”
Dreamville, Bas & Black Sherif feat. Kel–P – “Creed III: Soundtrack”
Karen Clark Sheard, Hezekiah Walker, Kierra Sheard – “God Is Good”
Voices of Fire – “Joy (Unspeakable)”

Outstanding Duo, Group or Collaboration (Contemporary)

Burna Boy & 21 Savage – “Sittin’ On Top of the World”
Chris Brown feat. Davido & Lojay – “Sensational”
Lil Durk & J. Cole – “All My Life”
Usher, 21 Savage, Summer Walker – “Good Good”
Victoria Monét feat. Lucky Daye – “Smoke”

Outstanding Original Score for TV/Film

“American Fiction” – Laura Karpman (Orion Pictures/Amazon MGM Studios)
“Rustin” – Branford Marsalis (Netflix)
“The Color Purple” – Kris Bowers (Warner Bros. Pictures)
“The Other Black Girl” – EmmoLei Sankofa (Hulu)
“Transformers: Rise of the Beasts” – Jongnic Bontemps (Paramount+)

Entertainer of the Year

Colman Domingo
Fantasia Barrino
Halle Bailey
Keke Palmer

Voting is now open to determine winners at the NAACP Image Awards’ official website. Voting closes Feb. 24 at 9 p.m. ET.

Winners will be announced at the 55th NAACP Image Awards, airing live Saturday, March 16, at 8 p.m. ET on BET and CBS.